Skip to main content

glossar_laser_scan_technik_scanpedia

Glossary

SCANpedia - welcome to the SCANLAB GmbH encyclopedia.

Here you'll find explanations and definitions of key technical terms from the fields of optics, scanner technology, laser technology and laser processing.

If you'd like to see a specific new term added to our encyclopedia, then just drop us an email.

Use tags to classify products

F

F-Theta Objective

F-Theta objectives – also called scan objectives or flat field objectives – are lens systems often used in scan applications. Located in the beam path after the scan head, they perform various functions.

For instance, the objective focuses the laser beam at the focal point. When scanning, it also ensures that this focal point is always positioned in the working plane, perpendicular to the objective's optical axis. Additionally, the position in the working plane approximates the F-Theta condition, meaning the scan length (image height) is approximately proportional to the set scan angle. Deviations from this proportionality can be compensated by controlling the scan mirrors.

Key quality indicators of good F-Theta objectives are low field-curvature, a large image field and good, homogenous focus quality throughout the entire image field. Here, a crucial factor is whether the focus is diffraction limited. Additional requirements for F-Theta objectives can apply, depending on the laser's parameters. Examples here include avoidance of back reflections from the objective's lens surfaces, and/or thermal-lens effects.

Focal Diameter (Focal Spot)

The spot diameter is defined as the diameter in the beam waist that contains 86.5% of the total power and corresponds to the 1/e² beam diameter in the working plane for Gaussian beams.

Unit: µm

Calculation of Focal Diameter  (Spot Diameter)

The focal diameter, which the below-mentioned equation approximates, depends on the light source (laser wavelength and quality of the coupled laser beam) as well as the scan system’s aperture and focal length. The approximation only yields useful results for gaussian beams.

d = M2  · k(A, D) · λ · f / D

d = Focal diameter (1/e2)
λ = Wavelength (typically 193 nm – 10.6 μm)
f = Focal length (typically 30 mm – 2,000 mm)
M2 = Beam quality (laser-dependent)
k = Correction factor, depends on A and D (ideally 1.27; more typically between 1.5 and 2.0)
A = Aperture of the scan system
D = Beam diameter prior to focusing (typically 6 – 70 mm)

Full scale

see Angle Terms

© SCANLAB GmbH, All rights reserved

Siemensstr. 2a82178 Puchheim, GermanyPhone +49 89 800746-0Click to send email

Direkt zum Inhalt

glossar_laser_scan_technik_scanpedia

Glossary

SCANpedia - Willkommen im Lexikon der SCANLAB GmbH

Sie finden hier Erklärungen und Definitionen zu den wichtigsten Fachbegriffen aus dem Bereich der Optik, Scanner-Technologie, Lasertechnologie und -bearbeitung.

Sollten Sie einzelne Termini in unserer Enzyklopädie vermissen – schicken Sie uns gerne eine E-Mail.

Use tags to classify products

F

F-Theta-Objektiv

Das F-Theta-Objektiv – auch als Scan-Objektiv oder Flachfeldobjektiv bekannt – ist ein Linsensystem, das in vielen Scan-Anwendungen zum Einsatz kommt. Es wird nach dem Scan-Kopf in den Strahlengang eingebracht und erfüllt dabei verschiedene Aufgaben.

Zum einen fokussiert das Objektiv den Laserstrahl auf den Brennpunkt, zum anderen sorgt es beim Scannen dafür, dass dieser Brennpunkt immer in der Arbeitsebene senkrecht zur optischen Achse des Objektivs liegt. Weiterhin folgt die Position in der Arbeitsebene näherungsweise der F-Theta-Bedingung, das heißt, dass die Scan-Länge (Bildhöhe) etwa proportional zum eingestellten Scan-Winkel ist. Abweichungen von dieser Proportionalität können durch die Ansteuerung der Scan-Spiegel ausgeglichen werden.

Qualitätsmerkmale guter F-Theta-Objektive sind vor allem eine geringe Bildfeldwölbung, ein großes Bildfeld  und eine gute und homogene Fokusqualität im gesamten Bildfeld. Ein wichtiges Kriterium ist hierbei, ob der Fokus beugungsbegrenzt ist. Darüber hinaus können abhängig von den Laserparametern weitere Anforderungen an F-Theta-Objektive gestellt werden. Beispielsweise seien hier die Vermeidung von Rückreflexen von den Linsenoberflächen im Objektiv und/oder thermischen Linseneffekten genannt.

Fokusdurchmesser (Fokusspot)

Der Fokusdurchmesser entspricht bei einem näherungsweise gaußförmigen Profil dem 1/e²-Strahldurchmesser in der Strahltaille, ansonsten dem Spotdurchmesser mit 86,5% Leistungsinhalt.

Einheit: µm

Berechnung des Fokusspot

Der Fokusdurchmesser kann mit Hilfe der unten genannten Formel abgeschätzt werden. Der Fokusspot ist abhängig von der Lichtquelle (Laserwellenlänge und Strahlqualität des eingekoppelten Laserstrahls) sowie der Apertur und Brennweite des Scan-Systems. Diese Näherung liefert nur für annähernd gaußförmige Strahlprofile verwertbare Ergebnisse.

d = Fokusdurchmesser (1/e2 )
λ = Wellenlänge (typisch 193 nm – 10,6 µm)
f = Brennweite (typisch 30 mm – 2.000 mm)
M2 = Strahlqualität (abhängig vom Laser)
k = Korrekturfaktor, abhängig von A und D (ideal 1,27, real meist 1,5 – 2,0)
A = Scanner-Apertur
D = Strahldurchmesser vor Fokussierung (typisch 6 mm – 70 mm)

© SCANLAB GmbH, Alle Rechte vorbehalten

Siemensstr. 2a82178 PuchheimTel. +49 89 800746-0E-Mail senden